Resource: DBT Interpersonal Effectiveness- Declaration of Personal Responibility

A complicated person, with a complicated life

Declaration of Personal Responsibility

Motivation of Self

  1. I act in a way that makes sense to me on some level.
  2. I respond to any situation in my own unique way based on my background and prior experiences.
  3. I am trying to get my needs met in the best way I know how.
  4. I am the only person who really knows and understands my needs.
  5. I am ultimately responsible for getting my needs met.
  6. It is okay to ask for what I want from others, although I may not get it.
  7. If I don’t get what I want, it is up to me to decide what to do next. (ex: negotiate, change my expectations, use contingencies, leave.)
  8. I accept that not everyone plays the game the same way by the same rules.
  9. People’s needs will inevitably conflict.
  10. All relationships teeter on what I am willing to accept versus what I can…

View original post 249 more words

One thought on “Resource: DBT Interpersonal Effectiveness- Declaration of Personal Responibility

Leave a Reply

